Skip to main content

Visitors change the variations within an experiment

Last updated on Mar 24, 20261 min read

If you notice that a different version of the same experiment is displayed during a page visit - or when you visit it again - there may be various reasons for this. The most common causes are

  1. The Tracking Activation Script was not integrated correctly
  2. Consent management platform blocks the Varify script
  3. The setting “Clean Up Experiment on URL change is activated

The Tracking Activation Script was not integrated correctly​

Check whether the setting "Start Tracking on Activation Event" is active and whether the "Tracking Activation Tag" is correctly triggered and delivered in your Google Tag Manager. Here's how to set up the „Tracking Activation Tag.“.

Possible causes & solutions:

  • Tracking Activation Script was not triggered
    → Check whether the Tracking Activation Script is configured correctly.
    → It must be in the GTM be triggered in such a way that it is executed immediately after the Google Tag.
  • Deactivate setting (not recommended)
    → As a result, the tracking events fire directly with the variation playout.
    → Attention: This can lead to “Not Set” events. in the analytics data. This means you have less traffic in your experiments.

Step-by-Step Tutorial
Start Tracking on Activation Event

Start demo

Advanced Setup; an arrow points at the menu entry, and „Start Tracking on Activation Event“ is switched on and highlighted.

If this is the case, you only need to create and categorize Varify.io® or app.varify.io as a provider in the CMP tool. Here is an example of Cookiebot:

Cookiebot screen „Self-declared cookies and trackers“ with the entry Varify.io, provider app.varify.io, category „Necessary“

"Cleanup Experiment on URL change" is activated​

If you are conducting your experiment on a Single Page Application or on Product pages and changes that were originally displayed are no longer visible when switching product variants, for example, you can change the settings under „Page Targeting - Advanced Settings“ the option „Cleanup Experiment on URL change“ deactivate. You can find more information on this here.